MINUTES

Regional Transportation Council Thursday, February 13, 2025

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) met on Thursday, February 13, 2025, at 1:00 pm in the Transportation Council Room of the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG). The following RTC members or representatives were present: Daniel Alemán, Bruce Arfsten, Steve Babick, Rick Bailey, Elizabeth Beck, Gyna Bivens, Alan Blaylock, Michael Crain, Jeff Davis, Pat Deen, Michael Evans, Vernon Evans, George Fuller, Raul Gonzalez, Mojy Haddad, John Hudspeth (representing Ceason Clemons), Clay Lewis Jenkins, Ron Jensen, Brad LaMorgese, Stephen Mason, Tammy Meinershagen, Cara Mendelsohn, Bobbie Mitchell (representing Andy Eads), Cesar Molina, Ed Moore, Jesse Moreno, John Muns, Omar Narvaez, Matthew Porter, Manny Ramirez, Paul Ridley (representing Adam Bazaldua), Tito Rodriguez, Jim Ross, David Salazar, Gary Slagel, Andy Sommerman (representing Theresa Daniel), Bobby Stovall, Jeremy Tompkins, William Tsao, and Duncan Webb.

Others present at the meeting were: Rifat Alam, Vickie Alexander, Bryan Alldridge, Susan Alvarez, Renee Arnold, Gustavo Baez, Melissa Baker, Micah Baker, Berrien Barks, Jason Barton, Emily Beckham, Clifford Blackwell, Alberta Blair, David Boski, Jackie Bronson, Randall Bryant, Jessica Bullock-Barilla, Farhan Butt, Jack Carr, Angie Carson, Lori Clark, Nancy Cline, Dina Colarossi, Tom Colhill, Paul Cristina, Liam Crowley, Alyssa Cunningham, Dawn Dalrymple, Clarence Daugherty, Rebecca Diviney, Bob Dubey, Mike Eastland, Chad Edwards, Mark Enoch, Andrew Fortune, Eric Gallt, Carmen Garcia, Matt Gauntt, Rebekah Gongora, Scott Hall, Damarcus Hans, Tony Hartzel, Irlenia Hermosillo, Chris Hillman, Robert Himble, Sam Jacob, Joel James, Jim Jarratt, Matt Johns, Amy Johnson, Tim Juarez, Dan Kessler, Gus Khankarli, Tony Kimmey, Mitchell Kipp, Ken Kirkpatrick, Chris Klaus, Nadine Lee, Eron Linn, Dee Long, Paul Luedtke, Kyle Magnam, Tobin Maples, Chad Marbut, Kit Marshall, Rob Matwick, Rich Matyku, Matthew Mayhew, Jon McKenzie, Rogelio Meixueiro, Iris Mendoza, Brian Moen, Michael Morris, Vickie Morris, Johah Murray, Jeff Neal, Mark Nelson, Jackie Nolasco, Joe O'Brien, Cintia Ortiz, Brinton Payne, Michael Peters, Kristen Petree, Christopher Poe, Linda Pollick, John Polster, Kelly Porter, James Powell, Vercie Pruitt-Jenkins, Marcus E. Ray, Jacob Rein, Sidney Sonch, Brandon Sparkman, Claude Spivey, John Stacy, Toni Stehling, Karl Stundins, Stephen Tamur, Steve Templer, Hannah Thesing, Christopher Tolar, Joe Trammel, Lauren Trimble, Shane Tully, Brendon Wheeler, and Frank Wise.

- 1. **Opportunity for Public Comment on Today's Agenda**: Clay Lewis Jenkins, Regional Transportation Council Chair and Dallas County Judge asked if there were any public comments. Chair Jenkins noted that no members of the public chose to speak at the meeting or provide written comments.
- <u>Approval of January 23, 2025, Minutes</u>: The minutes of the January 23, 2025, meeting were approved as submitted in Electronic Item 2. Duncan Webb (M); Manny Ramirez (S). The motion passed unanimously.

3. Consent Agenda

- 3.1. <u>2024 Transportation Development Credit Annual Report and Updates to</u> <u>Transportation Development Credit Allocations</u>: Regional Transportation Council (RTC) approval of proposed updates to the Transportation Development Credit (TDC) allocations for several categories was requested and the annual TDC report submitted to Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) was provided for information.
- 3.2. <u>Federal Functional Classification System Amendments</u>: A request for Regional Transportation Council (RTC) approval of seven amendments to the currently approved Federal Functional Classification System (FFCS) was requested.
- 3.3. <u>Regional Transportation Council Local Backstop Funding for Small Transit</u> <u>Operators</u>: Regional Transportation Council (RTC) approval for use of \$200,000 in RTC Local funding was requested to continue critical transit services in the region.

A motion was made to approve Items 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3 on the Consent Agenda. Manny Rameriz (M); Elizabeth Beck (S). The motion passed unanimously.

- 4. <u>Orientation to Agenda/Director of Transportation Report</u>: Michael Morris briefly highlighted items 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.
 - 1. Recognition of John Hudspeth, Deputy District Engineer, Texas Department of Transportation, Dallas District
 - 2. Changing Mobility: Data, Insights, and Delivering Innovative Projects During COVID Recovery – Transit Data Update
 - 3. Staff Work on Awarded Discretional Grants, Federal Agencies, Federal Courts, and Presidential Executive Orders
 - 4. Additional Correspondence from Hunt-Related Entities on High-Speed Rail
 - 5. Correspondence with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
 - 6. Auto Occupancy/High Occupancy Vehicle Quarterly Subsidy Report
 - 7. Dallas-Fort Worth Clean Cities Annual Survey
 - 8. Dallas-Fort Worth Clean Cities Coalition Redesignated by the Department of Energy
 - 9. Air Quality Funding Opportunities (<u>www.nctcog.org/aqfunding</u>)
 - 10. Upcoming Dallas-Fort Worth Clean Cities Events (www.dfwcleancities.org/events)
 - 11. January Public Meeting Minutes
 - 12. December January Public Comment Report
 - 13. February Public Meeting Notice
 - 14. Recent News Articles
 - 15. Recent Correspondence
 - 16. Recent Press Releases
- Work Zone Data Exchange 2024 Call for Projects: Vickie Morris requested Regional Transportation Council (RTC) approval of the 2024 Work Zone Data Exchange Call for Projects selection and east/west funding split.

A motion was made to approve of the projects recommended for the Work Zone Data Exchange Call for Projects and East/West funding split adjustments; and to administratively amend the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)/Statewide STIP, as well as other planning and administrative documents to incorporate these projects/adjustments as needed. Duncan Webb (M); Matthew Porter (S). The motion passed unanimously.

 Transportation Authority Funding Affirmation: Michael Morris briefed the Regional Transportation Council (RTC) on the approved Legislative program in October 2024, with direction to bring back language, "Protect existing transportation authority dedicated funding." He requested approval for the affirmation of the October 2024 RTC position quoted.

A motion was made to approve striking the statement, "Protect existing transportation authority dedicated funding," from the North Central Texas Council of Governments' Legislative program. Steve Babick (M); Jim Ross (S). The motion passed. David Salazar and John Hudspeth abstained.

A substitute motion was made to approve to protect existing transportation authority dedicated funding. Jeff Davis (M); Paul Ridley (S). The motion did not pass. David Salazar and John Hudspeth abstained. Since the motion to substitute did not pass, a vote was held on the original motion as reflected above

- 7. <u>Federal and State Legislative Update</u>: Agenda item was not presented due to time constraints.
- 8. <u>Mobility 2050: Draft Recommendations</u>: Agenda item was not presented due to time constraints.
- Pavement and Bridge Condition and System Performance, Freight, and Air Quality: PM2/PM3 Performance Measure Targets: Agenda item was not presented due to time constraints.
- Progress Reports: Regional Transportation Council attendance was provided in Electronic Item 10.1 and Surface Transportation Technical Committee attendance, and minutes were provided in Electronic Item 10.2.
- 11. Other Business (Old or New): There was no discussion on this item.
- 12. **Future Agenda Items**: There was no discussion on this item.
- 13. <u>Next Meeting</u>: The next meeting of the Regional Transportation Council is scheduled for 1:00 pm, Thursday, March 13, 2025, at the North Central Texas Council of Governments.

Meeting adjourned at 3:21 p.m.